How to Delete Your Google Location on iPhone/iPad

Google saves the previous locations visited by a person on the maps. But if you want to learn how to delete your Google location history on iPhone, you can try the solution given in this article.

By Abby Walsh | Posted: May. 14, 2018, Last Updated: May. 14, 2018
Home > AnyTrans for iOS > iPhone Transfer > How to Delete Your Google Location on iPhone

Google has been known to collect a lot of user’s data for enhancing the user experience of their apps and services. Though Google guarantees that the user data won’t be sold to anyone and will be kept perfectly secure on their servers, knowing your personal data is being tracked is kind of creepy. Data that Google collects from you also include your location history. Google keeps a track of all locations visited by users on a particular date. But many people want to know how to delete Google location history on iPad/iPhone.

Google Maps timeline collects the location history about your movements down to every little detail like where you went, places you frequently go, the route takes to go to a particular place and the photos that you take on a particular day. As this information contains a lot of sensitive information about you possibly including your home address, you wouldn’t want to keep this feature on. In this post, we will tell you how to delete your Google location history on iPhone and other iDevices.

How to Delete Your Google Location History on iPhone/iPad

It is very disturbing for some to have their location history recorded by Google as they may feel it be a breach of their privacy. Though Google doesn’t sell this information to anyone and only uses it to enhance their consumers’ user experience, many people believe otherwise. Thankfully Google provided an option to delete your Google location history. You can follow the steps given below to learn how to delete your Google location history on iPhone and iPad.

Step 1: First, you need to launch the Google Maps app on your iPhone by clicking on the app icon from home screen.

Step 2: Now, in the app, tap on the Hamburger icon at the top on the search bar and then Tap on the “Settings” option by scrolling down through the menu.

How to delete your Google location history on iPhone - Step 2

How to delete your Google location history on iPhone – Step 2

Step 3: In Settings, tap on “Personal Content”.

How to delete your Google location history on iPhone - Step 3

How to delete your Google location history on iPhone – Step 3

Step 4: Scroll down and tap “Delete all location history” to delete the entire location history.

How to delete your Google location history on iPhone - Step 4

How to delete your Google location history on iPhone – Step 4

Step 5: Then, at the popup, check the “I understand and want to delete” checkbox and then finally tap “Delete”. Doing this will delete your entire Google location history.

How to delete your Google location history on iPhone - Step 5

How to delete your Google location history on iPhone – Step 5

Alternatively, you can also choose to selectively delete a particular range of location history.  To do this, you just need to tap on “Delete Location History Range” option instead of Delete all Location History.

How to delete your Google location history on iPhone - Step 5-2

How to delete your Google location history on iPhone – Step 5-2

 

Step 6: Then choose the start date and end date from the range of location history that you want to delete location history.

How to delete your Google location history on iPhone - Step 6

How to delete your Google location history on iPhone – Step 6

Step 7: Tap on Continue after selecting the range of locations you want to delete.

Step 8: Check the “I understand” checkbox and click Delete. Your entire Google location history will be deleted.

How to delete your Google location history on iPhone - Step 8

How to delete your Google location history on iPhone – Step 8

Bonus Tip: How to Backup Safari Bookmarks on iPhone/iPad

There are also many users preferring using Safari to browse the web pages on their  iPhone and iPad. Safari keeps tracking of our web visiting history and saving bookmarks for our frequently visited websites. These bookmarks improves our work efficiency and offer us a better experience of online surfing, but you may lose them due to storage release, mistaken deletion or upgrade failure. To keep these bookmarks safe on iPhone, AnyTrans for iOS  can help you backup Safari bookmarks to computer within steps.

How to Backup Bookmarks from iPhone to Computer

How to Backup Bookmarks from iPhone to Computer

The Bottom Line

Most people don’t like the idea of their location history being tracked by Google. This is even more common for iPhone users who don’t trust their data in the hands of Google. So we had given you a detailed guide on how to delete Google location history on iPhone and iPad. If you want to manage your iPhone data in a simple and safe way, just download AnyTrans for iOS to start a FREE trial now >

Abby Walsh

Member of iMobie team, an Apple fan and a horror movie lover. Always be willing to solve all kinds of Apple-related issues as well as Android's.

AnyTrans® for iOS

The best tool to transfer, backup and manage your iPhone iPad content, even iTunes, iCloud backup files. As easy as ABC!

Free Download
  • * 100% Clean & Safe
11,452,517

Users Served

Mentioned in Top Tech Sites:

Highly Rated by Users:

Rated 4.8/5

based on 7889 Customer Reviews