What is Photo Stream


What is Photo Stream on iPhone iPad and iPod touch? Read on this Wiki page, you'll learn every detail about Photo Stream.

Kelly Woods

June 18, 2013


Follow @KellyWoods20

AnyTrans - Manage Music, App and Everything on Your iPhone iPad

PhotoTrans - One-stop iPhone Photo Transfer

Download this iPhone Photo Transfer so that you can make use of it after reading this What is Photo Stream article.

Photo Stream Wiki

Photo Stream is a service supplied with the basic iCloud which allows you to store the most recent 1,000 photos on the servers up to 30 days. When a photo is taken on an iPhone, iPad or iPod touch, with Photo Stream enabled, it is automatically uploaded to the iCloud servers.

From there, it is automatically pushed to the rest of the your registered devices. The service is also integrated with Apple TV, allowing you to view you recent photos wirelessly on their HDTV.

Don't Miss: How to Transfer Photos from iPhone to Computer >

What Do You Need to Use Photo Stream

  • iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch with iOS 6.0 or later;
  • Mac with OS X Mountain Lion v10.8.2 or later and iPhoto 9.4 or Aperture 3.4 or later;
  • PC with Windows 8, Windows 7, or Windows Vista (Service Pack 2) and the iCloud Control Panel 2.1 or later for Windows;
  • Apple TV (2nd generation) with Software Update 5.1 or later.

How Do You Turn on Photo Stream on Your iPhone iPad

Once your devices are up to date and you have set up your iCloud account, it's easy turn on Photo Stream on any of your devices. On your iOS devices, go to Settings > iCloud > Photo Stream, and turn on My Photo Stream and Shared Photo Streams.

Turn on Photo Stream

How to Turn on Photo Stream

Tip 1: Photos uploaded to Photo Stream or Shared Photo Streams do not count against iCloud storage.

Tip 2: Photo Stream supports JPEG, TIFF, PNG, and most RAW photo formats. Photo Stream does not work with video.

When Do Photos Upload to My Photo Stream

When you enable My Photo Stream on your devices, all new photos you take or import to those devices will be automatically added to your photo stream.

On an iOS device, new photos you take will be automatically uploaded to your photo stream when you leave the Camera app and are connected to Wi-Fi. Note: My Photo Stream does not push photos over cellular connections.

Tip 3: The photos you upload to My Photo Stream are stored in iCloud for 30 days to give your devices plenty of time to connect and download them.

Important Note: If you delete some photos from Photo Stream and want to get them back, you can make it with PhoneRescue. Here is a guide about how to recover deleted photo stream photos from iPhone.

Submit Your Question to Us, Get an Answer within 24 hours Ask Your Question
What's Hot on FaceBook

More Related Articles You May Like

Share Your Thoughts With Us