Are you wondering how to stop your iPhone from sharing locations without notifying others? Read the article below to find your answers!
Sharing location on your iPhone allows your family and friends to quickly locate you or your device. It’s very helpful in various circumstances. If you lose your iPhone, you can use the device of a family to track it. If your friend can’t find you on a hang-out, you can share your location with them. If you’re concerned with your children’s safety, you can track them by using the location sharing feature as well.
However, this feature of sharing your location on the iPhone compromises part of your privacy. What if you no longer want others to see your location? Can you stop the location sharing without notifying them? How should you do it to protect your privacy and information security? How could you know if someone has stopped sharing location with you?
The article below provides you with answers to all the questions above!
The answer is YES. There are multiple ways to stop sharing your location including turning off “Find My iPhone”, disabling “Share My Location”, or using a different Apple device as your tracked location.
Once this feature is disabled, people won’t be able to track your real-time location. None of these methods send notifications to people. However, for certain methods, your friends won’t be able to see you on their list of friends anymore. Moreover, when you re-activate the sharing with them, they will get a notification.
Detailed steps about how to use these methods are listed in the sections below.
The easiest way is to check your list of friends. You can go to the “Find My” app and then go to the “People” section. There will be a list of all your family and friends who have chosen to share their locations with you. If you no longer see their names, that means they have stopped sharing location with you.
Now, let’s take a closer look at how to stop iPhone sharing locations without them knowing.
The location service to track your iPhone requires a network connection. Thus, by turning on the airplane mode, you can stop others from finding your exact real-time location. You can enable airplane mode for your device in Settings or Control Center.
If you turn off “Find My iPhone”, other people won’t be able to see your locations anymore. However, you won’t be able to track your device either when you lose it. Therefore, you should be careful about turning this feature off. Here’s how to turn off “Find My iPhone” on your device:
The above method requires your Apple ID password. However, what if you forget your password? Can you still turn off “Find My iPhone”? The answer is YES! You can use the professional application, AnyUnlock – iCloud Activation Unlocker, to turn off “Find My iPhone” without a password.
You can refer to the following video tutorial or see the detailed steps below.
Step 1. Download and launch “AnyUnlock – iCloud Activation Unlocker” on a computer > Connect your iPhone to the computer via a USB cable > Click “Turn Off Find My iPhone” and then click “Start Now”.
Step 2. Read and confirm the “Term of Use”. If you accept the “Term of Use”, “AnyUnlock – iCloud Activation Unlocker” will start to download the jailbreak tool.
Step 3. You should jailbreak your device before turning off Find My. If you haven’t get your device jailbreak yet, you’re encouraged to refer to the following jailbreak tutorial a below.
Step 4. Once your device is successfully set up, it will start the jailbreaking process automatically. Once the jailbreaking process finishes, you will see the “Turn Off Find My iPhone” interface. Click “Turn Off Now”.
Step 5. Follow the steps on the screen to confirm the status of “Find My iPhone” on your device. If the status is “OFF”, click “Confirm”. Otherwise, repeat the steps above.
Step 6. Then “AnyUnlock – iCloud Activation Unlocker” will remove your Apple ID. Once finished, you will see a confirmation page. Now, the “Find My iPhone” feature has been successfully turned off and the Apple ID has been removed.
Instead of turning off “Find My iPhone” in general, you can also stop sharing your location with a particular person in the “Find My” app without notifying him/her. Here are the steps to do so.
Now the person chosen won’t see your location and won’t receive any notifications. However, he or she won’t be able to see you on their list of friends either. Additionally, if you re-activate the sharing again, he or she will receive a notification that you start to share locations with him or her.
If you want to stop sharing your location overall to all people, you can do so with the following steps:
If you have multiple Apple devices under the same Apple ID, you can set one of them as your location-sharing device. You can choose one which you don’t take with you, such as an iPad. In this way, people won’t be able to know where you are in real-time, and here’s how.
Now your location is set to where your iPad is.
Privacy has always been a major concern nowadays. Sharing your location with someone else may be convenient and may also cause your information security and personal safety issues. Therefore, you should be careful about this feature and remember to turn it off when you no longer want others to see where you are. For more questions, please feel free to comment below.
Product-related questions? Contact Our Support Team to Get Quick Solution >