Whether you sent a text to the wrong person on your contact or used the wrong words while conversing, the text deletion feature can help you manage such occurrences. Learn how to delete old WhatsApp messages for both receiver and sender here in this post.
Sometimes you can make a mistake sending the wrong message to the wrong contact. No worries, you can always handle the situation with minimal hassles by simply deleting the corresponding message using the delete for everyone function. However, there’s a limit to how it works, as the function doesn’t work after a specific time (usually 48 hours).
In case you want to delete old messages for everyone after a very long time but don’t know how it’s done, you are in the right place to seek a solution. Here, we will explore the various ways to delete old WhatsApp messages on Android and iPhone. Read on!
Yes, you can!
When you mistakenly send a message to the wrong person via WhatsApp, you can undo your action or withdraw the message conveniently for yourself and the recipient remotely. You might be wondering how that’s possible.
Well, WhatsApp comes with the delete for everyone function which is designed to help the sender of a message undo an action. For instance, when you send a text, photo, or video to your contact, the feature lets you clear the message for yourself and the receiver directly from your end.
However, mind you, this feature is limited. Only the sender of the message can delete the corresponding message for both parties. Also, delete for everyone is available within 48 hours of sending the message. After this time, the feature is automatically disabled.
To delete WhatsApp messages for everyone, both sender and recipient via the delete for everyone option, kindly apply the instructional guide that suits your mobile operating system:
Have you exceeded the stipulated time frame to use the delete for everyone feature? If so, and you want to clear some messages for yourself and the recipient of your message, then you need to manipulate your phone date and time.
By changing your phone date and time, you can trick WhatsApp into believing you haven’t crossed the stipulated time frame to use the delete for everyone feature. Here’s how to do this on the different mobile operating systems:
Need to transfer your WhatsApp messages from iPhone to a new phone? AnyTrans has got you covered. This software is one of the world-leading data migration suites that offers a convenient way to move WhatsApp messages from your old iPhone to a newer one. It also offers Android to iPhone WhatsApp data transfer.
Step 1. Free download the latest version of AnyTrans, run AnyTrans, and connect both of your devices to the computer with a USB cable.
Step 2. Click Social Messages Manager and select WhatsApp to Device under the WhatsApp tab. Tap on Transfer Now.
Step 3. Make sure the old iPhone is the source iPhone (left) and the new iPhone is the target one, then Next. AnyTrans will start transferring automatically.
Note: the data of WhatsApp on the target iPhone will be erased after being transferred successfully.
You have 48 hours to get rid of a WhatsApp message for yourself and the corresponding recipient. After this timeframe, there’s no way you can delete for both parties again. The only thing you can do after 48 hours is delete for yourself only. This rule also applies to group messages, and the action can only be done by the group admin.
Folks using WhatsApp on the web or desktop can also manage their WhatsApp messages conveniently. You can delete messages for everyone by following the steps down here:
Should you exceed the stipulated time limit for using the delete for everyone feature, then you have to adjust your date and time to manipulate WhatsApp so you can delete a message for yourself and the corresponding recipient. A simple way to do this is applying the instructional guide provided in the article above.
Deleting a WhatsApp message without alerting the receiver is super simple. All you need is to use the Delete for Me function that comes with WhatsApp. For folks who don’t know how this is done, use the detailed instructional guide below:
If you use an Android smartphone,
Managing your old WhatsApp messages just got easier. With the comprehensive guide above, you can now delete WhatsApp messages for everyone, regardless of whether you exceeded the time limit or not. In case you need to transfer your WhatsApp messages from your Android or older iPhone to a new iPhone, you can leverage AnyTrans to help you out. The software helps you transfer your messages easily and quickly.
Product-related questions? Contact Our Support Team to Get Quick Solution >