Searching for methods on how to delete photos from iPhone but not iCloud? Read this article to get methods of removing photos from iPhone but not iCloud.
Many iPhone users always ask such a question that “How can I delete photos from my iPhone but keep them in iCloud?” Undoubtedly, this is really a question. Sometimes, the photo management on iPhone is confusing and redundant.
When you trying to delete photos from iPhone, you’ll find that those photos are removed from your iCloud as well. Therefore, if there is any way to delete photos from iPhone but not iCloud so that you can still retain these photos in iCloud Photo Library? The answer is YES. Now, let’s check it.
iCloud Photo Library is designed to mirror your library on all of your devices. Once this feature is enabled, everything you do to a photo on your iOS device is mirrored to iCloud and to any other iOS devices or Macs that have the library enabled.
This is why you delete photos from your iPhone and find that those photos are also deleted from your iCloud. So the first and direct solution of removing photos from iPhone but not iCloud is to turn off iCloud Photo Library entirely. You can make it with steps:
This is not the way to do it once and for all, if you enable iCloud Photo Library again, the photos you deleted from your iPhone will also be removed from iCloud. So, this method is only applicable if you want to basically separate your two libraries permanently.
If your iPhone storage is almost at a premium, and you really don’t want these photos appearing anywhere on your iPhone, then there is another option that is to give up on iCloud’s photo solutions and look to a third-party cloud service to backup your iPhone photos.
There are many iCloud alternatives such as Google Photos, DropBox, OneDrive, etc. Your iPhone photos can be securely stored in the cloud after successfully uploading, then you can delete them from your iPhone without removing them from cloud.
Another practical method is to sign into your iPhone with a new iCloud account. After uploading your iPhone photos to iCloud that signed in with your old Apple ID, sign out this account and sign in with a new Apple ID.
Then you can delete all photos from your iPhone without losing them from your previous iCloud. And you can still access the deleted photos from your other devices by signing in with your old Apple ID.
For this method, you may have some questions about how it works. Let me explain it to you. You know that your iPhone photos will sync to iCloud when you enable iCloud Photo Library, and with iCloud Photo Library, you can access synced photos from all your iOS device signed with the same Apple ID.
So, for this reason, if you delete a photo from your iPhone, it will be removed from iCloud and other iOS devices at the same time. It seems impossible to delete photos from iPhone but not iCloud. Actually, you can do it. What you need to do is to do some changes. The specific idea is that syncing iPhone photos to iCloud from computer instead of from iPhone directly. Just 3 steps:
To be honest, this idea is OK, however, to finish the 3 steps is not an easy job. In this case, you can with the aid of AnyTrans to make it with ease. It’s an iOS data transfer tool that can help you easily export all iPhone photos to computer and upload photos from computer to iCloud manually.
Now, download AnyTrans on your computer and follow the steps below to delete photos from iPhone but not iCloud.
Step 1. Install and launch AnyTrans, connect your iPhone to computer. Then click on Content to Mac. If you run AnyTrans on a Windows computer, you’ll see Content to PC instead.
Step 2. Select Photos category and set the export path, then click on the “Next” button to export all iPhone photos to computer.
After exporting all photos from iPhone to computer, now you can delete these photos from your iPhone. Then, add all photos you exported from iPhone to your iCloud. You can upload photos to iCloud by iCloud.com, you can see detailed steps at Method 2 in this guide, and, you can also use AnyTrans directly.
Step 3. Choose iCloud Manager section. Sign in with your Apple ID and password.
Step 4. Click on iCloud Import. Browse the folder that contains the photos you exported from your iPhone, under the AnyTrans-Export-Date folder, you’ll see the folders that names with the category you chose to export, select all photos, then click on Open to upload them to iCloud. Then, uploading photos from the next folder till all exported photos added to your iCloud.
After uploading all your iPhone photos to iCloud, as long as you enable iCloud Photo Library, you’ll see these photos still show up on your iPhone but not consume any storage. Now, you successfully delete photos from your iPhone but not iCloud.
1. If you have two iCloud accounts, you can use AnyTrans to transfer data between two iCloud accounts directly.
2. You can also use AnyTrans to access and export data from iTunes backup and iCloud backup.
Hope this guide can give you a hand on how to delete photos from iPhone but not iCloud. You can choose the best one for yourself. If you have better solutions, welcome to share with us via comment. By the way, if you want to transfer data among multiple iCloud accounts, you can have a try on AnyTrans. It will bring you more convenience.
Product-related questions? Contact Our Support Team to Get Quick Solution >